What Are The Five Stages Of Divorce?

There are several methods to prevent a divorce. One of the key elements to avoiding divorce is healthy communication and diminishing the gaps between you and your spouse. Unfortunately, divorce can be the only solution in some cases. 

You should contact a divorce attorney in Appleton, WI, if you need legal help during the procedure of a divorce. A divorce can usually involve multiple stages. Most of these stages can likely cause mental distress and trauma among the couple and children. It would be helpful if you consulted professional help to deal with such stages during the divorce. 

  • Denial 

Denial is one of the first stages of divorce. Denial does not only mean refusing to accept the divorce, but it also refers to not being able to process the situation. It can also be associated with fear or confusion. When a spouse gets into the first stage of the divorce, that is, denial, they may feel stressed with severe intensities. 

  • Anger 

Anger, the second stage of depression, often stems from betrayal, rejection, misunderstandings, abandonment, or lying. Generally, after a divorce, a spouse may feel irritated, annoyed, or angry with themself. 

Anger can make someone feel impatient, worried, or argumentative. Such a stage has often induced habits like drinking or overeating. If your spouse causes violence after the divorce, it is necessary to contact a divorce attorney in Appleton, WI, for legal action. 

  • Bargaining

The bargaining stage of the divorce often makes the spouse haggle with each aspect of their life. For instance, bargaining can be addressed as the “What if” stage of divorce. This stage generally occurs to eliminate doubt and rehash how one got into this situation. 

Disagreements with oneself are one of the most common outcomes of the third stage of a divorce. Most parents bargain to stay married for the children’s sake. Negotiations for fixing the marriage or child custody are typical in these stages of divorce. 

  • Depression

Depression is generally rooted in sadness, loneliness, or grief. Most spouses going through a divorce are likely to experience depression. Questioning the purpose of one’s life and feeling detached from friends, family, and society is one of the predictable outcomes of a divorce. Feeling guilty about hurting your spouse, children, and others is a common occurrence in the fourth stage of divorce. 

  • Acceptance 

Unlike other stages of divorce, acceptance is one of the few stages where a spouse can expect radical changes in their life. Approval will allow spouses to make amends with friends and family by deriving clarity about their lives. Optimism generally arises when a spouse is in the acceptance stage. 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button